The John Burgess Lancashire Cup


 Lancs cup small



The Lancashire Senior Cup Committee has made the decision to bring the John Burgess Lancashire Senior Cup out of mothballs and re-establish the competition for this magnificent trophy.

The Lancashire Senior Cup competition was established 125 years ago in the 1893-94 season with Oldham RFC being the first club hold up this prestigious trophy. Tyldesley RFC were the next winners in 1894-95, Morecambe RFC in 1895-96 and finally Littleborough in the1896-97 season. The Cup was then not competed for until 1971 when the Lancashire Senior Cup competition was re-established. The cup was renamed John Burgess Lancashire Senior Cup and was open to all member clubs in the palatine of Lancashire. Unfortunately the Senior men's competition was discontinued at the end of 2013 as there were not enough teams willing to participate in the cup, partly due to the increased demands of league rugby. Teams from lower levels of rugby continued to compete for the Brian Leigh Trophy, Lancashire Plate and the Alan Stone Bowl.

Successful teams who have won the Lancashire Cup include:

Orrell (10), Waterloo (7), Liverpool/Liverpool St Helens (5), Fylde (4),Sedgley Park (4), Manchester (3), Preston Grasshoppers (3), Vale of Lune (2)

West Park St Helens (2), Widnes (2), Oldham (1), Tydesley (1), Morecambe (1) and  Littleborough (1)


Please follow the link below for this year's draw for all the Lancashire Cup Competitions. The first round will take place on August 25th 2018.

Lancashire Cup Competitions First Round 25th August 2018

Details Of Cup Secretaries to phone results to will follow shortly

Cat: News